Buscando Barcelona

La Comida

Posted on: December 15, 2009

Viena RThe world's greatest sandwich. The New York Timesambla

            After hearing that they served what was deemed “the world’s greatest sandwich” by the New York Times in 2006, my friends and I of course had to try it. We headed to center town to find Viena Rambla, home of the Iberian Flauta. I have to admit, I was thinking in American standards here and expected a huge Subway style sandwich with lots of toppings and delicious bread. Here’s what I got….a foot long crispy baguette that had been rubbed on the inside with a tomato with a single layer of thin sliced Iberian ham. Let’s just say I was a little disappointed. While the sandwich was incredibly delicious (and I’m not even that big of a fan of ham), I don’t really think it lives up to its title as the best sandwich on the planet. True, the bread was baked to perfection, and the tomato rub gave it just the right amount of flavor, it just wasn’t enough. Where’s the cheese? Why only one layer of meat? I guess I’m so used to American style sandwiches that I forgot that I was in fact, in Spain and this is a completely acceptable sandwich. To the Catalans, this really is the best sandwich in the world. Not only does it taste great, it completely reflects not only their laid back lifestyle, it’s made with three of their favorite foods!

Café on Montjuic

            While my family was visiting me over Thanksgiving, I took them up the funicular to see the Olympic Village and the beautiful views from Montjuic. Tired from all of our touristy activities, we decided to stop and have a drink and snack at a small outdoor café, who’s name I cannot seem to remember. I searched and searched on google and in my guidebooks with no luck. It was similar to the outdoor cafes that line the boardwalk at the beach. Anyway, it wasn’t the name that was important, or even the food for that matter. I will always remember that place as a great time spent with my three sisters and my parents. We didn’t have to have a big fancy meal at some 5 star restaurant. My family was happy to have a couple Estrella Damm’s, a few Fanta Naranjas and a bag or two of those delicious extra crispy potato chips that they don’t seem to make in the United States. The weather was beautiful, the view was unforgettable and the conversation was hilarious. I really missed my family a lot and it was the perfect place to relax and enjoy one of the hidden local spots of Barcelona with them.  

Margarita Blue

            This restaurant is tucked away into the El Born neighborhood, where you’ll only find it if you’re looking for it. The food was delicious and is known as Tex-Mex Mediterranean because it mixes Mexican style food with Mediterranean ingredients. Their patatas bravas were to die for, and combined with guacamole salad and a fajita with fresh veggies and cheese, you really can’t lose! My friends and I went there to celebrate my 21st birthday. Their food was delicious but their cocktails were even better. We all had big, fruity cocktails made with fresh fruit and had whole slices of fruit right on the glass. The atmosphere of this restaurant is very laid back and fun and we had a great time here. I would most definitely recommend it if you were visiting!

Leave a Reply

