Buscando Barcelona

Reflection

Posted on: December 15, 2009

While waiting to board the plane back to Barcelona after an incredible six days in Italy, I stopped dead in my tracks. After doing a little mental math I realized that I had 10 days left in Europe. The next time I stood in line for a plane would be in the Barcelona airport for a flight back to the United States. Wait a second….where did this semester go?? Wasn’t I just unpacking in my new apartment and exploring my new home? Didn’t I just get back from a weekend at Oktoberfest? Didn’t I just celebrate my birthday in November? I don’t want to leave, but I don’t want to stay much longer. I’m in the middle of a thrilling ride, wind in my hair, sun on my face, with 8 of my best friends behind me. I can see the last dip, we’re rounding the last turn, and I’m not quite ready for it to be over. I feel the need for one more loop that sends your stomach flipping like a dolphin, one more adventure in a country I never dreamed I’d get to see. I feel the need to stay in Barcelona forever, come good or bad. But at the same time, I see the station nearing and I know that all good things must come to an end. And I begin to understand that the rollercoaster isn’t going anywhere. Barcelona isn’t going anywhere, Europe isn’t going anywhere. Actually, its me that’s going somewhere. Back to the simple things like consistently hot showers (our water heater is very temperamental), back to a full sized bed, back to a washing machine that actually cleans my clothes, back to unlimited condiments (Europe is a little stingy on the ketchup), back to a car that takes me from point A to B without switching at various metro stops, back to my family, my boyfriend, my home at Miami. I am so glad that I got to spend this time in Barcelona and wouldn’t change any aspect of it. I am already dreaming of the day I get to come back to my home away from home.

Leave a Reply

