Buscando Barcelona

Unas Noches Locas: Barcelona Nightlife

Posted on: December 15, 2009

I can honestly say that I’ve never been anywhere that’s as crazy at night as Barcelona. Even before arriving in the country, club promoters and groups were extending friend requests and event invitations on facebook to VIP lists and unreal clubs.  I really had no idea what I was getting myself into and some of the best times I can remember (or maybe not remember….) are at some of Barcelona’s crazy clubs. 

One of the best things about the night life in this city is that there is something for everyone. If you want to go out at 1 am and stay out until the sun rises, theres always a club for you. If you want to hit up local concerts and live music venues, theres a club for you. If youre looking for a certain kind of music to dance the night away to, you can almost always find that on different floors of the same club. Whether you want to be rocking out deep within the city, or sipping a martini on a chaise lounge overlooking the beach, you’ll most definitely find what you’re looking for in Barcelona.

While it would take an entire blog in itself to talk about my nights out on the town in Barcelona, a couple stick out in my mind as the best. The first would be the night we discovered that The Fray, an American Band was playing at Sala Razzmatazz one Wednesday night and for only 25euro!! Obviously not wanting to miss out on this incredible chance, we bought our tickets and headed to the concert. Theres nothing like seeing one of your favorite bands live, but theres REALLY nothing like seeing it in one of the biggest clubs in one of the most incredible cities on the planet.  Razzmatazz is one of the best clubs in the city for live music so the show was of course, nothing short of amazing. The room it was in was big enough for a crowd, but small enough that you were practically standing onstage with the band. It was one of my favorite nights in Barcelona.

My other favorite night in Barcelona was my  21st birthday celebration. Considering I had been legal for over 2 years according to Barcelona’s laws, I’ll admit I was a little upset that I didn’t get to celebrate this big milestone in the US where I was finally of legal drinking age. But how many people can say that they turned 21 in Barcelona at one of the hottest clubs with VIP treatment all night? My friends and I started the night at our apartment with birthday cookie cake and cocktails and headed out to CDLC, one ofthe clubs on the beach. We met up with several kids from our CEA program. After mistaking the kitchen counter for the bar (the waiters were great and still gave me a drink!) we decided I needed some fresh air and we moved on to Shoko, where one of the guys was promoting for De Lis Group. We walked into a fairly empty club (it was only 1am) and were stopped by the ever present photographer who takes pictures for the website. My friend encouraged him to take lots of pictures because it was my birthday. Upon hearing this he took us up into VIP, set us up with a table and brought out a bottle of chapagne with a huge sparkler. It was more than I ever could have asked for and he was so nice for keeping the drinks coming all night! Unfortunately, I didn’t thnink quite so highly of him the next morning as my head pounded, but it was definitely a birthday I will always remember!

Leave a Reply

