Buscando Barcelona

Up in the Air, Down on the Beach: Redbull Air Race 2009

Posted on: December 15, 2009

This was a great surprise during our semester in Barcelona.  Having never seen the Redbull Air Races before, even in the United States, we were thrilled to find out through an advertisement in the metro that we would get to see the WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS in Barcelona! It was one of the most fun days I’ve had on the beach since I’ve been in Barcelona!  Not only was the airshow great, but the weather was incredible! Never before have I been on a beach the first weekend of October! Gotta love that Spanish weather!

My friends and I relaxed on the beach, our eyes to the sky, our hands filled with Redbulls and watched the worlds 15 best pilots swirl and dive between the inflated cones over the water. There was even a show by military fighter jets. I was amazed by their perfect formation and their precision in their flips and dives. But what was even more shocking was when a huge passenger jet flew past low over the beach past the crowd and made huge banked turns. It was so close I almost felt like I could reach out and touch it! It made me a little nervous knowing planes I travel in were capable of diving like that! But it was certainly a sight to see! It was truly a once in a lifetime experience!

Leave a Reply

